Eleven Comal ISD Musicians Selected for All-State Band

February 1, 2024 - This year, 11 Comal ISD student musicians have been selected for All-State Band honors through a rigorous audition process that begins each fall with more than 70,000 high school students participating from across the state.

Sponsored by the Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA), students perform selected music for a panel of judges who rank each instrument. A musician must advance from the region competition to the area competition before being selected to rehearse and perform during the annual TMEA Clinic/Convention February 7-10 in San Antonio.

This year’s All-State Band honorees from Comal ISD include the following musicians.

  • Milton Amaya, Davenport High School - Euphonium - 4A All-State
  • Nick Arnold, Canyon High School – Percussion – 6A Symphonic Band
  • Caleb Atkins, DHS - Trumpet – 4A All-State
  • Carter Elza, DHS - Bb Clarinet – 4A All-State
  • Django Gregerson, CHS - Percussion – 5A Percussion Ensemble
  • D'Angelo Hinojosa, CHS - Piccolo – 5A Sinfonietta Orchestra
  • Giada Liccardi, Pieper High School - Eb Clarinet - 5A Symphonic Band
  • Ryan Lopez, CHS – Percussion – 6A Symphonic Band
  • Matthew Stanford, DHS – percussion – ATSSB Jazz Ensemble
  • Jessica Wadle, Canyon Lake High School - Oboe – 4A All-State
  • Xavier Wolff, DHS - Tenor Trombone – 4A All-State





-All-State Band honorees from Canyon High School are pictured. From left is D’Angelo Hinojosa, Nick Arnold, Ryan Lopez and Django Gregerson.

-All-State Band honoree from Canyon Lake High School, Jessica Wadle.

-All-State Band honorees from Davenport High School are pictured. From left is Milton Amaya, Xavier Wolff, Carter Elza and Caleb Atkins.

-All-State Band honoree from Pieper High School, Giada Liccardi. Photo courtesy of Sam Roberts Photography.

-All-State Jazz honoree from Davenport High School, Matthew Stanford.


Read more Comal ISD news here.